Paternoster's Little Gem Windmill
Paternoster's Little Gem Windmill Factory
Edmund John Paternoster moved to Salisbury in 1878 and established an agricultural machinery business called 'E. Paternoster's Little Gem Windmill Factory'. It was located on East Terrace (East Terrace later became known as Paternoster Row) near the corner of Union Street. Edmund became famous after he applied a windmill patent in 1884 to create the Little Gem Windmill which was shipped to nearly every state in Australia. The Little Gem Windmill varied the pitch of the fan blades by moving the inner and outer fan rings in different directions. His son Henry went on to manage the business until it stopped production in 1927.